Steveville Dinosaur, Sylvan Lake, Taber, Thunder, Vermilion, Wabamun Lake, Willow Creek, Winagami Beach, Woolford, and Writing-on-Stone. Picnic facilities, playground equipment and camping areas are provided in these parks, which are maintained primarily for the recreation and enjoyment of the residents of the province.

British Columbia.—There are 146 provincial parks in British Columbia with a total area of about 13,158 sq. miles. These parks are classified as A, B and C. Class A parks are those considered most highly for immediate recreational development and are strongly protected. Class B parks are areas slated for development-valuable wilderness areas or places set aside for a specific reason. Class C parks are intended primarily for the use of local residents and are usually under Board management. The parks are in all stages of development and dedicated to a variety of recreational uses. There are immense wilderness areas such as Tweedsmuir and Wells Gray Parks and outstanding scenic and mountain places which include Garibaldi, Mount Robson and E. C. Manning Parks. Thousands of city dwellers throng to the ski slopes of Mount Seymour or picnic at Cultus Lake Park. The formal gardens of Peace Arch are a monument to the goodwill between Canada and the United States. Vancouver Island has a chain of small forest parks that have achieved a tremendous popularity with tourists-the best known are Little Qualicum Falls and Miracle Beach. In addition there is a camp-site system closely integrated with the provincial parks, many camp sites actually being located in the parks. The famous gold town of Barkerville has become the first Provincial Historical Park. A new venture is the establishment of a Marine Park System. There are now three Marine Parks, all with water access.

Subsection 4.- The National Capital Plan*

Ottawa, the city selected by Queen Victoria in 1857 to be the permanent seat of the legislature of the united provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, was designated the National Capital of the Dominion upon Confederation in 1867. The community grew out of the military and construction camp which served as headquarters for the building of the Rideau Canal—a military project carried out between 1826 and 1832 which utilized the Rideau and Cataraqui Rivers to link Kingston on the St. Lawrence River and Lake Ontario with the Ottawa River thus providing a safe interior military waterway between Lake Ontario and Montreal by bypassing the vulnerable international section of the St. Lawrence River. Originally known as Bytown, after Col. John By, R.E., builder of the canal, the settlement prospered with the development of the lumber trade. The Act of Incorporation, changing Bytown to the City of Ottawa, was proclaimed on Jan. 1, 1855.

The city, situated in an area of great natural beauty, has remained a self-governing municipality and, although throughout the years the Federal Government co-operated with the municipal authorities in the development of a system of driveways and parks, the city expanded without the benefit of any planned direction. In 1946, however, a Master Plan was approved, designed to guide the development of the Capital's urban area over the following half-century and to protect the beauty of the surrounding National Capital District. That District covers an area of about 1,800 sq. miles, half of which lies in the Province of Ontario and half in the Province of Quebec. The co-operation of the Cities of Ottawa and Hull, sixty-two other autonomous municipalities and the two provincial governments is essential to the successful implementation of the Plan. The federal agency responsible for its fulfilment is the National Capital Commission (see p. 139), the lineal descendant of the Federal District Commission which, in turn, replaced the

^{*} Prepared by Peter Aykroyd, Director of Information, National Capital Commission.